Lvl 1o: Life & Goals

What is Level 10 Life?

I first came across the premise of Level 10 Life from a Pinterest pin, which led me to this blog post.  The idea is that you want to be living your best (happiest, most satisfying) life, and the first step is an honest assessment of where you are right now.

There’s some contention about what to call the areas of your life that you’re assessing.  For instance, you’ll likely see “relationship” or “marriage” as an area to look at, and that’s fine if you’re in a relationship/marriage, but if you’re like me and single, what do you do?

I made up my own categories.  I tried to make sure that the final list of areas of my life encompassed as much and as many areas of my life as possible, without having a bajillion categories:

  • Physical Health
  • Mental Health
  • Emotional Health
  • Spiritual Path
  • Friends
  • Family
  • Work / Money
  • Crafting Skills

So. You’ve got your list.  Now what?

Now you take a really honest look at yourself, and how you feel about each area.  How satisfied are you, on a scale from 1 to 10, with that part of your life?  Do you have any really low or really high times to compare right now to?  How much room for improvement does each area have?

16299311_1412621895435592_3135163815000074633_n

My assessment (on Jan 7th) was as follows:

  • Physical Health = Lvl 4
  • Mental Health = Lvl 6
  • Emotional Health = Lvl 3
  • Spiritual Path = Lvl 2
  • Friends = Lvl 3
  • Family = Lvl 2
  • Work / Money = Lvl 1
  • Crafting Skills = Lvl 2

As you can see, I wasn’t feeling very good about my life.  I was unemployed, my relationship with my father (or as I occasionally call him, “the Fatherlord” — Avatar reference) has been pretty dismal for years, I hadn’t practiced my spirituality for quite awhile, and my craft projects were not progressing.  My physical and mental health were only assessed so high because I have recent lower points to compare with.

So… if the goal is for each area of your life to be maxed out at Level 10, how do you get there??

Level 10 Goals

You set goals.  Achieve the crap out of them.  Celebrate.  Repeat.

… Seriously.

I feel a bit hypocritical saying this, because so far I haven’t been very good at this.  But it’s working.  A month and a half later and there has been progress in at least two areas.

I chose 2-3 goals for each area, because much more than that would be overwhelming and nothing would get done.  The key is to try to keep them realistic and manageable.

  • Physical Health:
    • Complete weekly checklist (exercise goal: 5x each week, with various activities that count as exercise) ((Shoveling snow totally counts as exercise.))
    • More vegetables! (Need to sign up for the farmshare this summer)
    • Stretching and/or physical therapy exercises
  • Mental Health:
    • Sudoku at night (stop browsing Pinterest; Sudoku doesn’t use data)
    • The Great Courses lectures (something educational)
  • Emotional Health:
    • Regular (daily) time outside
    • Journaling prompts
    • Move out & get an apartment
  • Spiritual Path:
    • Observe Sabbats & Esbats (solar & lunar cycles)
    • Practice divination regularly (Self, you’re not gonna get better at it if you don’t practice. Love, Me)
    • Work on & improve Book of Shadows
  • Friends:
    • Attend potlucks & game nights
    • Monthly letters to far-away people
  • Family:
    • Tell my brother & my bestie how much I appreciate them
    • Have tea with my aunts and/or cousins
    • Contact my mom & stepdad weekly (They live in western PA; I live in western MA.)
  • Work / Money:
    • Apply for 3 jobs per week until working 40 hrs/week.
    • Restart Etsy store
  • Crafting Skills:
    • Crochet a hat
    • Make a corset
    • Re-cover a parasol

There has already been progress.  I think I’m going to do an assessment quarterly (4x per year), so the next will be around my birthday in early April.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

