Procrastination vs. Goals & Dreams

Hi.  My name’s Tiffany, and I’m a procrastinator.

It can get pretty bad.  I’ve pulled all-nighters writing school papers, even for something as simple as putting together a Powerpoint once.  I’m currently procrastinating applying for jobs, which is going to backfire tremendously if I don’t get a hold of things soon.

I’ve known that I’m a procrastinator for a very long time, and it’s only gotten worse over the years.  It recently occurred to me to wonder why I procrastinate; like, what’s at the root cause of this behavior?  I don’t necessarily think I’m lazy or that I can’t manage my time; I write To Do lists all the time, and some things get crossed off, but other things keep rolling over to new lists and never get done.

So I’ve started researching for causes of procrastination.  These are some of the causes that articles mention:

  • Fear of failure (aka “negative perfectionism”)
  • Fear of success (if self-worth is tied to achievement)
  • Addicted to working at the last minute (b/c adrenaline)
  • Can’t tell people “no,” even to something they don’t want to do
  • Overwhelmed & can’t “chunk” (split project into smaller bits)
  • Stressed & seeking symptom relief
  • Problems thinking long-term
  • Lack of motivation
  • Lack of focus
  • Lack of interest
  • Skill deficit (don’t want to appear dumb, etc.)
  • Rebellion
  • Low energy levels / fatigue
  • Inability to prioritize or make decisions

… and the sources I got them from:

After a few articles, the causes start to repeat, so I’m just going to stop there.  To some degree, I identify with all of those causes.  The question becomes, how can I defeat them?

I need to defeat Procrastination.  It’s the Big Bad, the boss fight at the end of the game, the thing that completely changes the outcome of your life.

As I learned in Full Contact Magick, it’s important to know what you want from life.  I have a list, and I even coded the things that don’t require having money to do.  However, after several days of having my stepbrother around the house, I have made an important goal.  It even has a deadline incorporated in it.

Move out before I turn 30.

This gives me about 2.5 years to find stable employment and save up enough money to afford my own space.  More importantly, my current job will end by May 2016, so really I need to lock in at least one source of regular income in the next 8 months.  Or else I’m f***ed (and not in the fun way).

The key to setting goals and actually achieving them is to keep things manageable and unthreatening.  To that end, I am setting myself weekly goals (b/c I know sometimes life gets in the way), and making sure they’re attainable:

  • Apply for 2 jobs each week
  • Complete 1 sewing commission (sewing for someone else) each week
  • Work on 2 other sewing projects (sewing for me, maybe?) each week

As you can see, that’s 5 things to do, and there are 7 days in a week.  Totally doable.

Other things that I should do in the next 2.5 months (before Samhain):

  • Business cards for tutoring (advertise at local high schools?)
  • Start the Etsy store (start by posting the resistor jewelry)
  • Complete the self-trainings for my current job in a timely manner (for once)

I’m thinking about starting a small notebook and recording the things I work on each week, so I can keep track of my progress (and not apply for the same job twice).  And hey, today’s Saturday; tomorrow starts a new week.  Beginning implementation….

Leave a Reply

