Fireworks!!!

So this past weekend was the 4th of July (here in the US), and it wouldn’t be complete without fireworks.  And if you can’t tell, I really like fireworks.  Always have.

Backstory:  Growing up, a relative on my mom’s side lived literally across the street from the field where Easthampton would set off their fireworks.  We’d go there every year, I’d play with my grand-aunt’s spinning wheel, and when it got dark we’d go across the street to watch the fireworks.  When we were little, Mom would cover our ears with lawnmowing-grade earmuffs.  It makes me laugh now, because the explosions are half the fun.

So on Sunday (July 5th), I went with my younger brother to the fireworks in Greenfield, MA.  If I’d been to those before, I don’t remember it.  Anyway, we walked about a mile there from where I parked the car (because I knew where it was & that lot was empty), spread out a blanket, and waited with smart phones for it to be dark enough.

IMG_20150705_220049_691This is one of the better photos I took (with my phone!).  Not bad, for my first attempt photographing fireworks!  I wish I could post the video clip I took of the finale, because you can clearly hear me cackling and cheering.  Afterward, walking back to the car, I was on such a high (from excitement, honestly) that I was singing a little ditty:

Explosions!  In the sky!
Pyrotechnics!
Chemistry makes ’em different colors!

This is not the first time I’ve considered looking into getting a job in pyrotechnics.  Either way, things that make me cackle need to be more plentiful in my life.

Leave a Reply

